Biker boys

 

This is a second posting stemming from the Men’s retreat in Sedona at Living Springs camp.  Several of the guys rode their motorcycles up from Mesa.  Pity the fool.  I’m sure it was excellent.  I gave up motorcycle riding in the mid 70’s right after having to make a split decision “barbed wire/lay it down”.  I chose the second and spent the rest of the afternoon with a turkey baster full of saline flushing the gravel out of my knee.  Actually the medics at Davis-Monthan AFB did that for me.  My first shirt (first shirt is the Chief Master Sergent) was gonna have me court martialed for destroying U.S. Government property – namely me.  That was just his way of expressing his care and concern for the amount of money the taxpayers had invested in me. If any one was going to damage me he wanted to be the one who decided who that would be.

The human body is so amazing.  God’s intricate design is so functional, and the body’s ability to repair itself is simply astounding.  Pretty crazy considering He started with a lump of clay and a few miles of DNA.  Too bad about the first Adam.  His choice has caused every man born to be born with rebellious flesh.  Don’t matter if your’re a preacher or a Hell’s Angel you got it from your daddy, and he got it from his daddy, all the way back to Adam.  Flood couldn’t correct it – Noah hit the beach and got naked.  BTW: nothing good ever comes from fermented fruit, just ask Ham, Shem, and Japheth.  Sure they had a few laughs, but in the end they had a cover-up like unto Watergate.  This is beginning to sound like fractured fairy tales, so let me find a point other than the one on the top of my head.

The Apostle Paul in his letter to the romans said this:  But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members.

We are captive in our bodies.  You can’t do a thing without it.  You can’t talk, and you can’t walk.  Lazarus was captive in his body too.  He died and was four days in the grave.  I’ve watched enough CSI Las Vegas to know that the human body after four days dead is not coming back to life with a little CPR.  Blood has separated into plasma and “parts” and pooled into the lowest recesses.  Eyes have decayed to liquid.  Internal organs are mush, and the build up of gases from the body consuming itself causes it to bloat like you never could believe no matter how much you ate at Grandma’s last Thanksgiving.  Martha was kind when she only said he stinketh.  Jesus spoke “Lazarus come forth” and a guy in grave clothes appeared at the open tomb’s portal.  No rehab to get the atrophied muscles back in shape.  No blood transfusion, no organ transplants. Fully alive!  Did Lazarus now have victory over his flesh – not if you believe what the Apostle Paul said.  BTW I think this puts to rest the saying “Dead men tell no tales.”  My friend Steve pointed out that Jesus told the people standing there to loose him from his grave clothes.  That’s the job of the church. Jesus Saves.  The Church removes the bandages and the encumberances of the dead life so that the saved can walk in the liberty of God’s Grace.  You can’t earn it, you can’t buy it.  Its free for the asking.  Who says Grace isn’t amazing?

About tnman

I was born, then I was born again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

