Had a little talk with Jesus

Had a little talk with Jesus
Edit, Remove
Wednesday, October 05, 2011
I took my walk this morning, and as is my practice I did not plug in. It is still fairly warm here and by the time I’m half way my ears have become primordial pools of perspiration.
When I was young “in the Lord” I was given a piece of information by a mentor, a discipler. He said “music that can not be prayed should not be played.” That’s not an exact quote, but a distillation of the thought. I lean heavily on the traditional hymns.
One of my favorites is “A Mighty Fortress is our God”. It is chuck full of good Biblical doctrine.
What we call the Psalms is the Jewish hymnal. The songs of ascent were sung on Holy Days as the people made their way up to worship and sacrifice at Jerusalem.
I am going to explore a thought here, so it may get a bit weird or strange, please remember that I am a carnal piece of flesh saved by Grace and my Sanctification is an ongoing work.
Is all music worship music? How many genres of music are there? Jazz, Blues, Country, Rock, Hip-Hop, Swing, Gospel, Folk, Hymnology. You can probably name many more, and there are a bunch of sub categories. So if all music is worship music what would Frank Sinatra’s “I did it my way” worship?
It may be helpful to define “worship”. We know what “friendship” is, and “fellowship” as well. Worth + ship.
To ascribe worth, reverence, honor, and sacred homage to God or to an object. And for the time suspended in this blog, worship includes “god” purposely spelled with a lowercase “g”.
The answer then to, “Who or what is the object of worship in the song ‘I did it my way’ is:” Self. So many songs worship the “god of self”.
It’s been said that if you play a country record backwards you get back your dog, your trailer, and your ex-wife.
The gods that were in the world, that people worshiped are still here in the world today. Mammon, ashtaroth, molech, chemosh, Bacchus still have their worshipers.
I have heard it said that “We become like the things we worship”.
I am not sure why I have been pondering this today. I am usually pretty careful about what I allow in to my eyes and ears. I thought I was guarding my song(s) as well. Most mornings I wake with a choir song or a hymn sounding on my inside voice. I don’t attempt to vocalize it until after a cup of coffee, and then only in midst of a steamy shower.
So, Lord, perhaps this blog has become my song of self.
So let me confess: I know I could not breathe without You. Without you my heart would cease, and I would again become like the dust of the earth. For there is not a word in my tongue, but, lo, O LORD, thou knowest it altogether.

I took my walk this morning, and as is my practice I did not plug in. It is still fairly warm here and by the time I’m half way my ears have become primordial pools of perspiration.

When I was young “in the Lord” I was given a piece of information by a mentor, a discipler. He said “music that can not be prayed should not be played.” That’s not an exact quote, but a distillation of the thought. I lean heavily on the traditional hymns.

One of my favorites is “A Mighty Fortress is our God”. It is chuck full of good Biblical doctrine.

What we call the Psalms is the Jewish hymnal. The songs of ascent were sung on Holy Days as the people made their way up to worship and sacrifice at Jerusalem.

I am going to explore a thought here, so it may get a bit weird or strange, please remember that I am a carnal piece of flesh saved by Grace and my Sanctification is an ongoing work.

Is all music worship music? How many genres of music are there? Jazz, Blues, Country, Rock, Hip-Hop, Swing, Gospel, Folk, Hymnology. You can probably name many more, and there are a bunch of sub categories. So if all music is worship music what would Frank Sinatra’s “I did it my way” worship?

It may be helpful to define “worship”. We know what “friendship” is, and “fellowship” as well. Worth + ship.

To ascribe worth, reverence, honor, and sacred homage to God or to an object. And for the time suspended in this blog, worship includes “god” purposely spelled with a lowercase “g”.

The answer then to, “Who or what is the object of worship in the song ‘I did it my way’ is:” Self. So many songs worship the “god of self”.

It’s been said that if you play a country record backwards you get back your dog, your trailer, and your ex-wife.

The gods that were in the world, that people worshiped are still here in the world today. Mammon, ashtaroth, molech, chemosh, Bacchus still have their worshipers.

I have heard it said that “We become like the things we worship”.

I am not sure why I have been pondering this today. I am usually pretty careful about what I allow in to my eyes and ears. I thought I was guarding my song(s) as well. Most mornings I wake with a choir song or a hymn sounding on my inside voice. I don’t attempt to vocalize it until after a cup of coffee, and then only in midst of a steamy shower.

So, Lord, perhaps this blog has become my song of self.

So let me confess: I know I could not breathe without You. Without you my heart would cease, and I would again become like the dust of the earth. For there is not a word in my tongue, but, lo, O LORD, thou knowest it altogether.

Your Grace

About tnman

I was born, then I was born again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

