Counting the cost

I’ve been checking all my favorite blogs this morning and it seems as if no one has been in the mood to write. Or maybe they are busy with this Holy Day season.
As I walk thru and around my neighborhood I take notice of the houses trying to out do each other with lights, lighted wire reindeer, cutouts, and inflatable Santas.
I used to think there was nothing so sad as a cactus covered in snow. But as I see all these inflatables in their uninflated state lying in peoples’ front yards it reminds me of the aftermath of the shootout at the OK corral. Dead Santa, dead frosty, dear me; what do these peoples kids think when they come home from school to view this carnage?
I feel like I am one up on them because I don’t drag a ladder around the perimeter of my house twice a year. And I don’t spend an entire weekend dragging stuff out of storage or hours doing the John TraVolta untangle disco dance. I no longer am forced to make a trip to Target for yet another half-dozen extension cords. These things must be related to those socks that disappear in the dryer. I bet they both end up on some planet in another galaxy – make love and have offspring that are either electric socks, or fluffy surge protectors.
I probably sound like Scrooge or that nasty old Grinch. But I would venture to say the amount of money invested in Christmas decorations in my zipcode alone far exceeds the Gross National Product of Nigeria, Somalia, and Zimbabwe.
How you spend your money is your business.
I was at Safeway this week. As I was checking out when I heard, but didn’t see a little girl throwing a fit. You know, the crying, and the whining all done at a voice pitch that could break glass. I looked my cashier directly in the eyes and said: “She must have just seen your price on the yogurt.” The cashier laughed, but you know as well as I that I was telling the truth.


All of us have been forced to take a long look at ourselves. We see the state of our obesity and we know we are not in the best shape of our lives. When we were teens, before the driver’s license, we had to walk or bike ourselves from place to place. Somehow in our wealth we have lavished too much of the good stuff upon our bodies. But what we see is not the reality. The picture is actually much worse. The fat around our internal organs is as marbled as a corn fed Iowa heifer. It may be USDA Choice at the butcher, but on a human heart, liver, pancreas, and kidney it is not Choice – but it *IS* a choice.

But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold. Job 23:10

My prayer is that we will not continue to choose to feed a death wish, but we will be wise in our shopping and planning for the foods that will fuel our future. God instructs us that if we lack wisdom all we have to do is ask.


Merry Christmas, may your holidays be bright with the light of Christ, and filled with the warmth of our Savior’s comfort and love. If it was only for me – He would have come to be born as a man to redeem my fallen humanity by his perfect sacrifice. Justified = just as if I’d (never sinned) Praise Him!

About tnman

I was born, then I was born again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

