In Memorial of Harold Dawson

Some of the things I know about Harold Dawson.

The man loved a Ford.  Love may not be a strong enough word, because Harold had a passion for Ford Motor vehicles.  Harold’s blood was probably Ford blue.  To me – I understand his passion.  In the history of the American automobile – there has existed a passionate love affair between men and their cars.  In the days before the countless, non-descript imported cars – the Big three reigned in the hearts of the American public.

The competition between them has given rise to many arguments between the various factions and aficionados, and not a little name calling.  Those whose great love was a Chevrolet or a Chrysler product assaulted the Ford fans with taunts of F-O-R-D (Fix or Repair Daily and also Found on the Road Dead).

Never the less Harold Dawson was unwavering in his passion for Ford’s.  (I’m not too sure on this issue but it could have been a concern and a matter of prayer and fasting in his decision to marry Ms. Sylvia – knowing what was parked in her garage.  )

Many times over the last nine or ten years I have had occasion to visit with Harold and Sylvia in their home and more often in recent years in the hospital or a care facility.  Brother Harold always spoke of the goodness of the Lord.  Not just to his church family, but to the nurses, the aids, the doctors, the technicians.  He was like Paul the apostle – God gave him a captive audience and he used it to the Goodness and the Glory of God.

We all know what a physically, emotionally, spiritually draining condition constant sickness and pain can bring to the human body.  It took it’s pound of flesh, but I never saw or heard one second of wavering in his love for his Savior.

Last Wednesday night as I was headed to my vehicle in the church parking lot;  I saw brother Harold sitting in Sylvia’s car waiting for her.  As I passed by he raised a hand to wave at me and he said.

“See ya!”

I want you to know I believe that .

Harold Dawson is a true hero of the faith.  I am proud to have known him, I look forward to seeing him again.

(Spoken at Harold’s Memorial Service 20 August 2012)
About tnman

I was born, then I was born again.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In Memorial of Harold Dawson

  1. John Goodwyn says:

    I am not sure you told me Harold Died…

  2. J says:

    What a wonderful testimony Harold was for the Lord. So thankful he persevered in the faith. “…but the one who stands firm to the end will be saved.” Matt. 10:22

    • tnman says:

      Thank you for taking your valuable time to read and respond to this story. As the signs of Our Lord’s return appear all around us with increasing frequency – it feels good to me to have the testimony of Harold Dawson as a witness that shines in these dark times. By His Grace you and I will shine in like fashion, and one day we will shine as the stars of heaven.

      Dan 12:3 And they that be wise shall shine as the brightness of the firmament; and they that turn many to righteousness as the stars for ever and ever. You just keep sowing!

Leave a Reply

