And then it was day 11

Today is the day I have been looking forward to since I began this 21 day journey.  Yes, it is only day 11, and day 21 is still 10 days away.  Day 11 is, as you should know, the day when meat is introduced back into the diet.  Sure, not lunch meats, or bacon or sausage, but ounces of beef, chicken, pork or fish. Having removed all food groups from my meals and subsisting on greens, vegetables, and fruits has not been all that difficult.  As I’ve said before, my wake-up routine is no longer a bleary eyed search for a cup of coffee.

After day 21 I can begin adding back in the grains, dairy, and other foods that have been absent from the smorgasbord of fine dining. I’m not all that certain that I will bring grains back at all.  I realize I did not lose but 2 lbs of body weight by going grain free in the three weeks before starting the Standard Process cleanse.  Perhaps I am not gluten intolerant, but I absolutely know I am not glutton intolerant when it comes to bread, rolls, pancakes, waffles, or anything made out of flour. I love bread. I was thinking just tonight as I polished off the last bits of salmon that were in the bottom of the salad bowl.  There they are swimming in that oil and vinegar dressing, wouldn’t it be grand to have a big fist of sourdough to rapture the remains.

I’m also rather fond of eggs.  Eggs and toast, eggs and sausage on toast, eggs and bacon with toast, eggs and mashed potatoes and chorizo (toast optional). Fried, poached, scrambled, omelettes, frittatas, hard boiled any ole way, they stand alone or go with anything and everything.  Very versatile and very nutritious. So, I’m thinking eggs may be the first of several dairy products that will be appearing.  All this is theoretical until I receive the results of my food allergy tests.  I don’t know if I will have those results before day 21 or not.  If not, then I’ll punt.  One of the purposes of a 21 day detox is to slowly introduce select foods back into the diet and to observe what effect it has on the system.  Kind of like playing Russian Roulette, but with less chance of loud bangs, the smell of gun powder, and rorschach looking blood spatter.  That’s not to say there isn’t a possibility of an allergic reaction. I just think with all the years of experience of eating various foods, it’s not likely I am going to go into Anaphylactic shock by eating normally. And normally for me doesn’t include blow fish, sushi, or tripe. Sushi in my house is referred to as “bait”.

About tnman

I was born, then I was born again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

