Water world

Avoidance. The art of dragging one’s feet. In a less pleasant bodily form it would present itself as the perspiring, moist and warm swamp of procrastination.  Perhaps “avoidance” somehow evokes the possibility of never having to come to execute the actual deed, whereas “procrastination” is just delaying the inevitable. In this case, my case, the case of catching up my creative, yet tortuous outpouring of words – it’s a musky case of procrastination. Not that I think it is my inevitable fate to backspace whole paragraphs at a time, or my duty to write, rewrite, edit, reedit, modify, finalize, and capitulate as often as the wave slams itself against the grains. The earth revolves, the moon waxes and wanes, high tides and low.  In pounding tempest or in peaceful tranquility the abrasive sands receive and absorb both rage and ripple of perpetual breaking wave.

I love the mountains with cedar and fir scented pristine air. I love the lakes with their many sparkling points of light. I love the rivers, woods, and creeks with their mysterious bends and the promise of beauty and adventure just round the next corner.

But I love the vast oceans and beaches above all.  It seems to me to be the time piece of eternity. Yes, we say “Old as the hills”, and we speak of timelessness in many aspects of nature. But the tides are the domain of the Almighty. With all of our learning, with all of our technology, with all of our centuries of searching the heavens…we have yet to find another planet so favored as ours. From space our earth is a blue sphere surrounded by white clouds, in which can be seen variegated patches of vegetation. Somewhere in the neighborhood of 3/4 of the planet is water.  Maybe it should be named “Ocean” instead of “Earth”?

Perhaps it may seem a bit strange to you that someone who loves the beach and the ocean so much would choose to live in the middle of the Arizona desert. Those of you who know me, know that is not the only thing strange about me. But the rich and famous have all the prime beach front real estate. I am neither rich nor famous, so I decided to live on the beach that has no ocean.

 

About tnman

I was born, then I was born again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

